the beginning
the latest entry
journal index
guest book
email tv writer
notify list
diaryland
tv writer's journal

This journal documents the author's experiences as a television writer. To read the story from its inception, go to the beginning.

June 21, 2002

March or die
Everything has ground to a halt. Perhaps faeries filled my head with sand whilst I slept. Perhaps the strain of health concerns, marriage obligations, and the barrage of life changes these last few months have conspired to turn my brain to goo. Or perhaps my heart isn't in it anymore.

I wanted to write television. Still do. But sans writing partner and in-between television seasons, I find following my agents' advice much like walking through mud in lead boots. Yes, it's a great idea for me to have a feature script in my portfolio. But the muscles involved are different. In many ways it's harder for me to create an entirely new universe within a script than to extend characters and situations for an existing television property. And I admit after a year and a half of having a writing partner to feed my ideas (and hopefully feed his) I am lonely, alone, and bereft within the creative process.

previous - next

� 2001 - 2002 tv writer. All rights reserved.