the beginning
the latest entry
journal index
guest book
email tv writer
notify list
diaryland
tv writer's journal

This journal documents the author's experiences as a television writer. To read the story from its inception, go to the beginning.

October 24, 2001

With regards to Emily Dickinson
The sad truth is most writers are never published. The great majority of actors are rarely, if ever, seen on stage, screen, or television. And less than three percent of those who wish to spend their life pursuing artistic endeavors actually do. Fear is often an issue. As is a person's ability to sacrifice. Not to mention perseverance and work ethic. But recently I have been wondering what effect common courtesy has on this process.

A few days ago, an actor I know asked if I would give her friend the lowdown on how I went about finding an agent. It seems her friend had written a couple of sitcom spec scripts and was now at the point of looking for representation, but with no idea of how to go about it. Only two months removed from being agentless, I wrote an email explaining in detail how I targeted the agents I contacted; where I got up-to-date contact information, and the marketing strategy I employed to get them to read the scripts I had written with my collaborator.* I sent off the letter knowing that I had done this person what the kids might call "a solid."

I never heard back. Not from the aspiring sitcom writer. Not from the actor who requested the favor. Unfortunately, this is not surprising. In my travels in the arts I have often encountered a feeling of entitlement from those who create and those who support that endeavor. People who feel that they are "owed" the time and effort of others without any acknowledgement on their part.

Much has been written on the ruthlessness of the entertainment industry. Agents who forget who their clients are once their work falls out of favor. Backstabbing producers and actors who spare no victims in their quest to feed their own egos. The stories are endless. And yet, I doubt those Hollywood successes known today for their rude and dismissive behavior networked so cavalierly when they were nobodies.

*To read the email I sent explaining how I found an agent, click here.

previous - next

� 2001 - 2002 tv writer. All rights reserved.